Zodiac Signs

The First step of Reading and Understanding a chart is, knowing the three key components of the Horoscope namely Zodiac Signs, Stars and Planets.

Zodiac Signs And Lords : There are 12 signs from Aries to Pisces. And, Every sign is ruled by a Planet which is otherwise known as Sign Lord. The strength of the Sign Lord determines the characters of a person very much. For ex, a person whose Sign Lord is Mars, will be energetic and active. And those whose Sign Lord is Moon, will be cool and loving in nature. The 12 signs are their Lords are :

Rahu and Ketu do not rule any sign due to the fact that they are only Shadow Planets.

Birth Sign : Vedic astrology is Moon Sign based. The zodiacal sign through which the Moon was passing when a person was born is known as Birth-Sign (Janma Rasi) of that person. For instance, if Moon was passing through Leo, then the Birth Sign will be Leo.

Classification of Signs : The Astrological Signs are classified into different groups depending their character and nature. Some of the classifications are :-

Twofold or Dual nature : All signs are classified as either Masculine sign or Feminine sign. All Odd Signs are Masculine and all Even Signs are Feminine.

  1. Masculine Signs are : Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius
  2. Feminine Signs are : Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn and Pisces

Threefold or Triplicity nature : All signs are classified as Fiery, Earthy, Airy and Watery sign. These elements of the signs are important in forecast as the relationship between signs can be understood by their nature. For instance, Fire and Water are quite opposite, so will be the Fire and Water sign. Two persons, one born in Fire sign and another in Water sign, will have quite opposite nature

  1. Fire Signs (Inspirational Type) : Aries, Leo, Sagittarius (i.e 1st, 5th, 9th sign)
  2. Earth Signs (Practical Type) : Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn (i.e 2nd, 6th, 10th sign)
  3. Air Signs (Socially Oriented Type) : Gemini, Libra, Aquarius (i.e 3rd, 7th, 11th sign)
  4. Water Signs (Emotional Type) : Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces (i.e 4th, 8th, 12th sign)

The threefold nature can be easily remembered with the acronym FLAW which stands for Fire, Land, Air and Water

Fourfold or Quadruplicity nature : All signs are also classified as Cardinal, Fixed, Mutable Signs. Also known as Chara, Sthira and Upaya signs, this classification is based on their mode of operation. Each sign has its own way of approaching a problem.

  1. Cardinal or Chara Sign : Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn (1st, 4th, 7th, 10th sign)
  2. Fixed or Sthira Sign : Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius (2nd, 5th, 8th, 11th sign)
  3. Mutable or Upaya Sign : Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces (3rd, 6th, 9th, 12th sign)
The table below gives the consolidated view of Zodiacal signs, their Lords and the classifications.

Signs and Months : The 12 Tamil months represents the traverse of Sun in each sign. It aligns exactly meaning that each Tamil calendar month represents in which sign Sun will be traversing.

For instance, Sun will be traversing Aries (Mesham) during Chittirai, Taurus (Rishabam) in Vaikasi and so on. In Panguni, Sun will be traversing Pisces (Meenam). For any one who was born in Avani, the Sun will be in Leo (Simmam) in his/her horoscope.

However, the English calendar months do not align at all. This indicates a simple fact that the Astrology originated from India but adopted by West later.

The Table below shows the Signs and Tamil and English calendar month.

Copyright © 2020 - 2025, Vedic Astrology - by MMS·